TTFB staff selects Cy Young winners: David Price, R.A. Dickey

New York Mets pitcher R.A. Dickey could become the first knuckleballer to win a Cy Young Award.

The Cy Young races in both the NL and AL are up for grabs this year, with each of the final candidates worthy of consideration. The winners will be announced tonight at 6:00 EST during a live broadcast on MLB TV.

While most pundits believe both races to be a toss-up, the TTFB staff selected Tampa Bay’s David Price narrowly over Detroit’s Justin Verlander for the AL award, while New York’s R.A. Dickey ran away with the NL hardware.

Price garnered 13 votes from our staff, while last year’s AL Cy Young winner, Verlander, received nine. Jered Weaver, the other finalist in the AL, received no love from TTFB writers.

Dickey was the hands-down winner in the NL race, earning 16 out of 22 votes. Washington’s Gio Gonzalez and Los Angeles’ Clayton Kershaw, last year’s NL Cy Young winner, received two votes each. Two non-finalists, Atlanta’s Craig Kimbrel and Cincinnati’s Johnny Cueto each earned a single vote. If the Baseball Writers Association of America agrees with our selection of Dickey, he will become the first knuckleballer to win the award.


TTFB WriterAL Cy YoungNL Cy Young
Jon SumpleJustin VerlanderR.A. Dickey
Jamie ShoemakerDavid PriceCraig Kimbrel
Jackie MicucciDavid PriceR.A. Dickey
Michael DaultJustin VerlanderR.A. Dickey
Wyatt SinclairDavid PriceGio Gonzalez
Paul WestDavid PriceR.A.Dickey
Brad CongelioJustin VerlanderR.A. Dickey
Jacob KarasikDavid PriceR.A. Dickey
Mike VisoDavid PriceJohnny Cueto
Kevin LochnerJustin VerlanderClayton Kershaw
Dustin SalyerJustin VerlanderR.A. Dickey
Danny ZyskindDavid PriceClayton Kershaw
Travis CalvinDavid PriceR.A. Dickey
John ThiedeJustin VerlanderR.A. Dickey
Kevin CoughlinDavid PriceGio Gonzalez
Jake MastroianniDavid PriceR.A. Dickey
Anthony FusilliDavid PriceR.A. Dickey
Jed RigneyJustin VerlanderR.A. Dickey
Matthew HamiltonDavid PriceR.A. Dickey
James PoellnitzDavid PriceR.A. Dickey
Chol SaudersJustin VerlanderR.A. Dickey
Eric AronJustin VerlanderR.A. Dickey





Related Articles

Back to top button