TTFB votes on MLB 2013 Hall of Fame; Craig Biggio leads the way

Craig Biggio
Will the BBWAA vote in Craig Biggio?

With a talented 2013 class, Through The Fence Baseball (TTFB) followed through with its Baseball Bloggers Alliance (BBA) duties by casting a vote for the MLB 2013 Hall of Fame. The BBWAA will announce the official results on January 9th. Among the returning players were Don Mattingly, Jeff Bagwell, Lee Smith, Mark McGwire, Dale Murphy and, of course, Jack Morris, whose family is reaching out to the BBWAA for one last plea to place Morris in the Hall. With newcomers Craig Biggio, Mike Piazza, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Curt Schilling, Morris already is a longshot.

TTFB weighed in on its impressive and talented staff and 34 writers voted. With a required 75 percent of the votes to be inducted in the Hall of Fame, the class was too strong to decide for TTFB. Craig Biggio led the way with 71 percent of the votes while Mike Piazza (59 percent) and Jack Morris (56 percent) rounded out the top three.

In total, 25 players received at least one vote. Writers were mixed on the performance-enhancement-tainted players with Barry Bonds leading the way with 38 percent. It’s widely regarded that Craig Biggio will see the promise land this year, and the fate is yet to be decided for the other players. Full results below. Who would have you voted for and why? Let the debate begin!

Writers who voted, in the order the votes came in (full results by request Phil Watson, Matthew Hamilton, Cory Whitmer, Rob Harris, Dustin Salyer, Jed Rigney, Steve Randel, Jackie Micucci, Brian Standiford, Unknown, John Thiede, Eric Aron, Aaron Czarnolewski, Tyler Maher, Dan Kirby, Paul West, Unknown, Jake Mastroianni, Kevin Coughlin, Matt Seto, Chol Souders, Mickey Koke, James Poellnitz, Michael Dault, Wyatt Sinclair, Brad Congelio, Dustin Dietz, Geoff Mott, Michael D’Ambrosio, Jon Sumple, Kelsey McNanie, Jamie Shoemaker, Travis Calvin, Mike Viso

Related Articles

Back to top button